Hello community: I will appreciate your help ...

Hello community: I will appreciate your help with the following question: In the case of inspections, it is very common to use the questions with the answer options “YES” and “NO”. Question: Is there a way for the application to write “1” or “0” in the database when the user selects “YES” or “NO” in the application? This is to facilitate the calculation of metrics in subsequent reports, to keep the experience for the user more familiar with the options “YES” and “NO”. Thanks in advance!

0 14 402
14 REPLIES 14

@Aleksi_Alkio - I am still learning and like to try out new approaches, but am missing something in your explanation.

Can you clarify what you mean by “If you call your field as a ref”… ?

I am not setting this up correctly to get it to work.

My steps: 1. Creates a gsheet TABLE

with two columns.

Then “Added” as new table in appsheet, with text and number field. 2. In Columns, changed “number” to key and set “text” as label. 3. Created new View called “convert” and positioned as Ref (but not sure that is what you mean).

*IF I add or edit a record in “convert”, I hoped I could change the Y/N text and see the “number” change.

Can you help me understand better?

Apologies for additional questions, but hoping to learn - and really appreciate you taking the time to help like you do!

Hello community: I will appreciate your help with the following question: In … plus.google.com

There is no way to have a Y/N column type record 1 or 0.

but would it be possible to add a virtual column to calculate Yes = 1?

eg: using SWITCH?

@Aleksi_Alkio thanks you!!! I could hide the action. All is perfect.

@Mike_Adler

you can know more about reference between tables (Ref type) in this help article: help.appsheet.com - References Between Tables

References Between Tables help.appsheet.com

Ah… thanks for the clarification. Will give that a shot.