Hello, I'm fairly new to AppSheets, and I'm ...

Hello,

I’m fairly new to AppSheets, and I’m hoping for some insight on how to best solve a problem.

I need to send an SMS to my customers when their orders are fulfilled, however I only want to do this after a specific time in the morning that corresponds to their selected pick-up time, so as not to disturb them too early in the morning.

For example, their orders might be fulfilled at 5:30am, but they might have indicated a 7:30am pick-up time, in which case I want to delay the sending of the SMS until 7:30am.

I allow discrete pick-up times on half-hour intervals, so I can create Reports that run at 7:31am, 8:01am, 8:31am and 9:01am, etc. to send an SMS to a customer if their order is fulfilled and they’ve indicated a pick-up before the current time (i.e. at 7:31 send SMSs to all customers with fulfilled orders who have 7:30am pick-up times).

The issue with this strategy (besides requiring a lot of reports!) is that I trigger multiple Reports (i.e. 7:31am then 8:01am, etc) unless I set a status field indicating that an SMS has been sent.

The challenge with that is that Reports seem to only allow me to take only one action, either to send an SMS or update a field.

In which case, I would need to create a 7:32am Report just to update my status field to “SMS sent”.

This is cumbersome to say the least!

Can anyone foresee a better way to solve this??

Thanks so much!

0 4 324
4 REPLIES 4

@Phil_Robertson

I can see two alternatives.

1. If your “Pickup” is a date time field, and if you can live without updating the “Status” field, you could simply run the report on the half hour as you described. Your report could

send the SMS to those users with a “Pickup” date time within the next 30 minutes.