Help! I'm new to AppSheet, and need to create...

Help! I’m new to AppSheet, and need to create an app to log passengers and cars boarding our island ferry. The crew will be filling out the form offline, then sync with the backend at the end of their shift. Our office will then be able to see ferry boardings etc. on the spreadsheet.

Now here is the problem: The crew needs to be able to work with a blank form at the start of each shift. On the backend, however, the office needs to keep track of all the data for recordkeeping. Syncing the app with the backend will grab and show all records on the app, which is bad; I want the app form to be blank at the start of each shift.

Is there a way to clear the form on the app, and prevent it from reloading all the records from the backend? I suspect that the answer is no, which will be a real bummer…

thanks!

-Joseph

0 9 332
9 REPLIES 9

Maybe I can mark records as ‘Synced’ after a sync and not display those records on the app? If so, what would be the best way to do that? Thank you!

… maybe use a slice, where I exclude all records that have been synced? (slowly getting the hang of this?)

@Charlie_Wells yes, the slice or even a security filters would be the way to go here!

You can even make it to where the ferry operators can only see the forms they have uploaded that day, shift, etc…

Thanks @Grant_Stead - I’ll give all that a try. As long as I know it’s doable I’ll figure it out (I hope!). And thanks too for the swift response!