Hi, I'm new to the AppSheet, trying to develo...

Hi, I’m new to the AppSheet, trying to develop a survey app for a research project. I have been struggling with some issues, most of then related to multi-language support. Here are the main steps, regarding this issue:

1. Languages activated in User Settings, with 5 language options, based on valid_if from table.

2. Tables with data in each of those five languages, each column a different language, with the column name exactly the same as the language names in user settings.

3. Reading some answers in this community, I realized that I cannot use UserSettings() to substitute field names in expressions such as LOOKUP or ANY,

so trying a different approach, with a Virtual field [country-language], calculated with valid_if formula:

ifs(usersettings(Language)=“Deutsche”, Deutsche, usersettings(Language)=“English”, English,

usersettings(Language)=“Español”, Español,

usersettings(Language)=“Français”,Français, usersettings(Language)=“Lietuviškai”, Lietuviškai,

usersettings(Language)=“Português”, Português)

But then I get a problem with the validation of the formulas that I use to: (a) select the Enum column for the dropdown lists:

=SELECT(valid_if_Countries[country-language], true)

(b) select the column for the Display name based on the chosen language:

=ANY(SELECT(valid_if_fieldNameTranslations[country-language], [field-name] = “gps-coordinates”))

In both cases, I get the following message:

Unable to find column ‘country-language’, did you mean ‘country-language’?

What am I doing wrong? Can it be a problem with column type? the virtual field is of Enum type, but also tried as Text, error keeps the same. Any help much appreciated, thanks!

0 2 381
2 REPLIES 2

Why are you using multi tables and colums where you could create the structure only with one table and one column for each question? Is there any reason for that?

Hi @Aleksi_Alkio, thank you for your feed back.