How can I create a SUM() of a list of referenced items

I’m a rose breeder, and I’m creating an app to track my pollinations. I’m trying to find a way to create a sum of numbers from a list of referenced items.

Currently, I have 3 tables. Roses, Crosses, and Daily Pollinations. I have each of these reference each other. Currently, whenever I create an item/row in the Daily Pollinations table, I select a Cross and add the number of pollinations for that day. Then, that set of daily pollinations shows up in a list in the Crosses table.

I want to find a way to summarize the total number of pollinations for that cross. For example, if I did 20 pollinations the May 1st and I did 30 pollinations May 2nd, there would be two items. I want to a new column with the combined total of 50.

Hope that makes sense. I’ve been trying to find a way to do this, but I’m still learning all the formulas.

Thanks in advance!

0 13 5,909
13 REPLIES 13

tony1

Hi @swcrazyfan. Your Crosses table should have a virtual column of related rows from your daily pollinations table. You could add a virtual column that looks like this: SUM([Related Pollinations Column][Measurement Column]) .

Hey Tony, I did almost exactly what you wrote. The only difference is I create an actual column instead of a virtual one. Airtable is my back-end source, so I’d like to have access to the data through there if I need to. That’s why I didn’t use a virtual column.

So, the exact formula I used is: sum(

SELECT(
[Related Daily Crosses][Number of Pollinations], TRUE
)

)

I’ve included some screenshots of where I have the formula and how it’s not adding the numbers together.

Now, the strangest thing is I have precisely the same setup with a MySQL database using the same formula. I decided to rebuild this with Airtable so I didn’t need a higher AppSheet plan. However, the exact same setup isn’t working. I have no idea why.

Columns and Formula|690x427

THIS WORKS.

But it is kind of counterintuitive