How to add text (including calculated values to) Views

I am new to Appsheet and am having trouble working out how to do the following. I have tried to play around with expressions but am not getting very far. I have searched in the docs and also don’t really find anything that obviously addresses this. Maybe there’s a tutorial ?

I have a simple app with based on 1 spreadsheet (of a list of mountains, which can be ticked off when climbed) with 1 deck view, 2 report views and the standard Forms for each. On potentially any / all of these I want to place some text at the top of the page saying, for example, “You have climbed x% of the mountains”, where x is the % all rows where a column called Done = TRUE.

So I have 2 issues;

1. How to place pure text somewhere on my form (incl. how to specifiy where it goes)
  2. How to create the value for x

Any help much appreciated. Sorry if this is explained somewhere already.

0 8 3,682
  • UX
8 REPLIES 8

Hi there,

Here’s a quick app that has some of these examples in it, including:

1. reference between climber and mountain
  2. count for each climber number of mountains climbed, and
  3. create a banner of text and percentage. This is a virtual field.

Hope this helps!

https://www.appsheet.com/samples/Built-from-your-app-spec-?appGuidString=b4226b16-d95d-40dc-ac6c-7a2...

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

For this, you’ll probably want to use a column of type Show, which are described in here:

Show columns are positioned in a form like any other column. If it’s a normal (non-virtual) column, place it in your spreadsheet where you want it to occur in the form–probably as the first column of the row. If you choose to use a virtual column, you’ll need to use the more-advanced approach of using a slice to reorder the columns. Given that you’re new to AppSheet, I recommend using a column in your spreadsheet.