How to create a multi-user unique key across time and place

I’m throwing this out there for some validation. I searched the community for an answer but didn’t quite find what I was looking for, so… wondering if folks can poke a hole in my logic here as I am new to appsheet.

The goal is to allow a truly unique key across time, place and devices. Here’s an expression I came up with, the field in the data source should be marked as a “key”, and “hidden”, and “editable” and with the following “initial value”:

CONCATENATE(SUBSTITUTE([GeoKey], ‘, -’,’-’),’-’,
(HOUR(DATE(NOW()) - “01/01/1970”))*3600 + (MOD(HOUR(NOW() - “01/01/1970”),HOUR(DATE(NOW()) - “01/01/1970”)))*3600 +
MINUTE(NOW() - “01/01/1970”)*60 +
SECOND(NOW() - “01/01/1970”)
,’-’,UniqueID())

This expression also refers to a second column called “GeoKey” which is simply the Here() function.

in plain english, the unique key is thus “lat-long-UnixTimestamp-UniqueID”

This results in values such as:

47.690744-122.294005-1571311932-d60d3a21
47.690851-122.293919-1571312029-ea1f73eb
47.690773-122.293914-1571312184-9ba424c3

So, that’s pretty darn unique if you ask me, but I’m wondering what other folks think? This expression might solve for the “offline device” vs. “unique key” concerns?

Thanks for reading.

3 7 905
7 REPLIES 7

Thanks for the interesting post. I’m following to see what discussion develops. Personally, I’ve wondered if “UniqueID()” always produces a unique ID or if the chance of an identical ID being produced is just very, very low.

hi there, even expression of uniqueid() would carry a risk to generate the duplicated values, although chance is quite slim or almost it never gonna happen. unique value should be mechanically created,so they (machine) may generate the same value on the different occasion.
Probably we are talking about how it is likely and possible.
For me, 'Who knows!" (^.^)/