I am relatively new to Appsheet, so excuse fo...

I am relatively new to Appsheet, so excuse for asking something basic.

I am on a screen related to an student. When the Action button is pressed, I need to create record in another table “Lending” and pre-fill it with name of the student.

Right now,

I am able to create the record but for setting the column value, system lets me set other column but not the Student name. Is that because computed key for Lending table has Student column in it?

How do I achieve this pre-population of value from one screen to another?

0 5 585
5 REPLIES 5

RezaRaoofi
Participant V

If you are in need of pre-filling Student key in Lending table, perhaps Lending table should be related to Student table via Ref column; in that case a simple approach would be to just set the Ref properly and add Lending rows from inline view in Student’s table.

Another solution would be to create an action button that triggers LINKTOFORM(…) as screenshot below? Also for more details and examples I suggest reading this document: https://intercom.help/appsheet/data/columns/app-column-type-deep-link

Thanks Reza.

Table Lending indeed has Student table referenced using a Ref field.

Let me explain the UI: On the form to do Lending Checkin, after doing checkin for a student, I have an Action defined to do Checkout. That Action should create a new record in the Lending table and prefill with the student currently on the form.

To make this happen, I have an Action defined on Lending table as follows:

• Copy current Lending record and edit

I was expecting the newly created Lending record to have value of the Student when copy happened but it does not.

So I tried adding this to the Action on Lending table

• Update Lending’s Student column

But Student column is not available for me to update. I notice it won’t let me update any column on Lending that is Ref and that includes Student.