I need help on Virtual Column

Hello,

I am new to appsheet and a non-technical guy, need some help on this query.

I have two tables one is “summary” with unique row values and “projectHistory” with duplicate row values. “CODE” is unique in both tables. I need just One column value from the latest record (Top 1) +(DATE DESC). Last “Budget”… I used many queries, LOOKUP(), ANY(SELECT()), For some reason, ORDERBY(FILTER) is not recognizing the column name to sort with… I am getting the values, but not the latest record for all columns only date column

VIRTUAL COL 1 >>>>>>> Not Accurate
(ANY(SORT(SELECT(projectHistory[budget], ([CODE] = [_THISROW], TRUE)), FALSE)))

VIRTUAL COL 2 >>>>>>> Not WORKING!
ANY(SELECT(
projectHistory[budget],
IN(
projectHistory[budget],
TOP( SORT( SELECT( projectHistory[Date],([_THISROW].[CODE] = [CODE])),TRUE), 1 )
)
)
)

TABLE 1
CODE | NAME | LATEST BUDGET
A1 | google | ???

TABLE 2
DATE | CODE | NAME | BUDGET
2020-07-14 | A1 | gle | 500
2020-12-31 | A1 | gle2 | 4500
2021-02-08 | A1 | gle2| 3220
2021-06-02 | A1 | gle3 | 1000

I want the latest budget value as “1000” in my TABLE 1

Kindly help on this query

0 10 414
10 REPLIES 10

Hi @Suresh_Subramani
Maybe have a look at MAXROW()

It may not be always a number, I might need a text value as well.

@Suresh_Subramani

@Lynn has the best approach using MAXROW(). To elaborate, you will want to select the Budget value from the rows with code A1 with the maximum date.

The expression for [Latest Budget] column would be something like the below. It assumes that the [Code] value is already known. NOTE: you will need to replace column and table names to match your actual schema.

ANY(SELECT(TABLE 2[BUDGET], [Key_Column] = MAXROW("TABLE 2", "DATE", [CODE] = [_THISROW].[CODE])))

Thank you I really appreciate it. For some reason, there are no errors and the column does not show in results.

Can you provide an example of where it is not showing?