I want to populate a dropdown with Employee N...

(tvandang) #1

I want to populate a dropdown with Employee Name. If i select an employee name from this dropdown list, i want to get the associate Employee ID so get more information about this employee from the connected tables.

How can i achieve this? I do not want to use employee name as the primary key.

(Segolene Sansom) #2

so the app i shared to you wasn’t the one you sent to me as the link didn’t work. the one i created and shared should be in your app gallery under shared apps. that’s the one you need to copy

(tvandang) #3

I am new to the interface but I see where it is now:-)

I noticed that create the spreadsheet formula using SUMIFS.

I will look into this syntax furthermore.

If you create formula in the spreadsheet instead, and you create more entries (rows), wouldn’t you copy down the formula as far down as possible?

Is this a better practice is to write the syntax or formula in the spreadsheet rather than the expression

in the app?

?

(tvandang) #4

If I add a row in the spreadsheet and have a formula to calculate the value for that cell column and I added another row, I need to copy that formula to the same cell column in the second row. Am I right?

(Segolene Sansom) #5

appsheet automatically copies the formula down when it creates a new row. no need for you to do it manually. For certain things i prefer making the formulas in excel even though it does require syncing to see the results because for some things (especially if i have mass data to add) i might decide to add the data straight to the excel which means i know all the formulas will still work then without having gone through appsheet.

also i believe that if you want to keep the results of a formula for the future you should do it in the spreadsheet whereas if the result of the formula is only for show then it is better to do it in appsheet.

(Segolene Sansom) #6