Make an action happen automatically when a new row has been added to a table

ae_daniel
Participant III

0 11 675
11 REPLIES 11

LeventK
Participant V

@ae.daniel
Are you accomplishing the first part via formโ€™s Form Saved Event action property?

Unfortunately I couldnโ€™t figure out how to do that, I am doing the first part with excel.

@ae.daniel
You can achieve what you want with a 2 step workflow rule as well. No need for spreadsheet formula(s)

I hit a road block a while back trying to figure out workflows

It doesnโ€™t give me any options when it asks me for the action and I donโ€™t know that to do about that

LOL ok wow, so I figured out I have to have an action to assign (I am in no way a programmer lol, I am just a social worker trying to figure out how to make some simple inventory tracking more automated to free up my staffs time). Now if I put the action as an overlay the action is doing EXACTLY what I need it to, but the problem is that you have to go to each individual item and apply the action, and the other problem is, you can hit the action twice or more, thus removing a one time inventory change twice or moreโ€ฆ Which is exactly why I want the action to be automated. Well Iโ€™m there now, the action works, but I am having trouble assigning the triggerโ€ฆ

ae_daniel
Participant III

Ok, more specifically, how do I make a workflow that uses changes in one table to trigger an action for another table?

There are a couple of ways to do it:
1.) You can use a DataChange Workflow rule to trigger an action for the target table
2.) You can use Webhook Workflow rule to trigger an AppSheet API Edit preset, where when edited, assigned actions will be triggered, AppFormulas will be re-calculated, any workflow rules assigned will be run automatically.

ae_daniel
Participant III

So as I have gotten a little bit better at using the platform, I have a slightly better idea of what I am trying to do and why I canโ€™t do it.