New to AppSheet - My extremely simple app takes 10-15 seconds to change one cell

Hello. I’m new to AppSheet. I built a very simple app from a very simple Google Sheet. Sheet has 5 rows of data and maybe 10 columns.

My app is for baseball/softball. I want a simple way to track a player’s at-bats, with simple buttons for Hit, Walk, Out, etc. I have this working but it is extremely slow.

In AppSheet I created four Actions under the Behavior section. Each action increments a specific column in the sheet by 1, for the selected Row. My sheet then has two calculated columns (Total At-Bats and Batting Average) that use these “input field” columns, so those two numbers are re-calculated.

When I tap on the Action buttons in my app, I see the sync arrow appear. It takes a good 10 seconds for the sync to happen. It then takes another 2-4 seconds for me to see the updated values for the calculated columns in the app.

is this normal? In my current use case speed isn’t that important but I could not imagine waiting 10 seconds for an inventory management type app or similar.

I’m still on free account and just testing, not sure if that matters…

PS- I find it interesting that “performance” and “speed” are not in the list of tags.

0 10 694
10 REPLIES 10

Bahbus
Participant V

It sounds like to me that you have background and delayed sync turned on.

Thanks. I just looked at Behavior, Offline\Sync and Delayed sync was ON but the app was still syncing on its own…how is that possible? I would see a “1” badge on the sync arrow and I would count, and watch the badge disappear.

I just now set this to OFF and I see possibly the slightest improvement. Now taking about 7 seconds to sync and refresh the calculated field.

Where can I check for “background”?

It’s labeled “Automatic Updates” I think.

With those two on, it does the behavior you saw initially. With them both off, it will show a sync screen for every change.