Newby - Using Excel on Google drive for user data Entry (large amounts of Purchase order PO data)

Hi,

I’m new to Appsheet and been playing around with the app a while and also browsing help, forums and videos.

I’ve split out PO history sheets and have them “live” separately on Google drive (shared) - one is called Current year and the other one Previous year. The users would periodically update the content with the data from their ERP system and I’d like to have this synced to specific table in my App and display it there.

Is there a way for a user to paste data directly into the app somehow using pre-determined columns and cell formatting structure?

Ideally they could even edit specific fields in the App directly.

Whatever I do, I can’t seem to find a way to bring these 2 external sheets to the app and have them synced every time I change something either in the app fields or in the actual sheet on google drive.

Also, in the app view/edit mode for the user, can you actually display in the same way as in Excel, i.e. columns in the top row and below the actual data with their ability to filter and/or sort on specific columns?

What am I missing here? Thanks in advance for any pointers.

Regards,

Tom

0 4 738
4 REPLIES 4

Hi Tom, first I would check your Behavior options from Behavior > Offline/Sync. When you copy & paste data directly to your sheet, the app doesn’t know you have done something with the data. Please check that option “Delta sync” is set as OFF.

If you need to filter data from the app, you can use “Search” tool for that purpose. You can find it from the right upper corner from the app.

Btw… you don’t need to use two different tables for history and live data if the column structure is the same. You can use slices for that purpose and use them as a source for your view. Please check this article how you can do that…

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4