It’s not my interpretation, that’s what the documentation says, admit it or not. I humbly believe the statement is correct, because provided you edit the app and change the structure of the app, the apps in the users mobile devices cannot get the latest app build unless it’s not syncing initially. This is what we call cold run. If the app build is changed and the user devices haven’t got the latest app build, when they record the data and app tries to sync when connectivity has been established, than all the user data will be bogged up and you will need to reset the changes which will result with loss of data.
If you set an app to work offline, when you start the app (with start I mean a cold start, not from the device cache or memory) the app will sync and then you can continue to use the app even when offline. However, after you close the app provided you remove the app from the background running drawer of the mobile device, you will definitely need a live connection to be able to restart the app. If you close the app but don’t remove it from background running drawer, than no connection will be needed for sure because the app is already running silently on the background.