Order Capture App (newbie help)

Newbie here. I have this products. This picture shows my Product Table
2X_0_0149ee86fe11c782dea38b9c6ae17fadb8458ca7.png

Now, I want to add them directly to OrderDetails Table after adding them to my Products Table (picture above). How can I do that? Just like how the values in OrderDetails Table is linked automatically to Orders Table (another table with concatenation of Order ID column and OrderDetail ID column on OrderDetails Table)

Orders Table:
2X_c_c91309af623421deb480ac18dbfa4dda151d132e.png

OrderDetails Table:
2X_a_a5d07afb0fa842e1af5291920a8cb7c92f14fb4a.png

Is this possible? Automatic linking of data from Products Table to OrderDetails Table? What formula do I need?

0 5 1,753
5 REPLIES 5

Hello,

Here is an example app. This app was originally designed to test and document some PDF printing ideas, but in your case it also serves as a possible template (there are several ways to do this, this is just one example) for various parent child relationships.

It includes a products table which is then used in an invoice/invoice line item construct. If you copy the app and explore, I hope this will help answer some of your questions:

https://www.appsheet.com/samples/Sample-App?appGuidString=52a2f38b-8e43-46d1-94e5-f5a62bd9d0e6

Canโ€™t I do it with Order Capture app? Just by adding some formulas?
@TyAlevizos

You are referring to this sample?
https://www.appsheet.com/samples/An-app-for-managing-customers-products-and-orders

After creating a new product, which orderdetail/order would you add it to? A random one, all of them? That kind of thingโ€ฆ itโ€™s a challenging business workflow to think about. Products are โ€œlooked upโ€ from the point of view of the orderDetails.

Whereas, if - in this same sample app - you add a new orderDetail to an existing or new Order, when you select your product, there is an โ€œADDโ€ link in the popup page / product list: