Problem with images access rights for a publi...

Problem with images access rights for a public app.

I’m relatively new to Appsheet and thought I was doing okay with one multi user app deployed and one public app up and running as prototype. Sadly, not working as well as I thought some users of the public app have reported that they cannot see the images just the file path error triangle with exclamation in it.

Problem is I have 200+ images I am displaying and all paths have been entered in a similar manner e.g. Property Gallery_Images/04-18-2018 08-16-20.Image - Property.071646.jpg. At present it would appear that the only way to get them to display for these users is to change the folder rights on my Google Drive to “Public on the web - Anyone on the Internet can find and view”.

I’m very dubious about changing the rights to this, can you confirm whether this is correct or do I need to enter the images in a different way? Does Appsheet manage the access rights for Public Apps or do I need to change the rights on any Google Drive folders the app is using?

My apologies for keep raising basic questions like this and I have read a number of the articles but can’t seem to nail this one. Once I crack the basics hopefully I won’t keep bothering everyone, but for now your guidance on this critical point would be appreciated. Regards, Steve

0 6 825
6 REPLIES 6

Did you check the access mode on the table which contains the image column?

I suspect this “access mode” setting might be left to “as app user” instead of “as app creator”

On the app where you don’t require sign in or even it is required, the user will access to the data source by using your (as app owner) authentication, when you set this “as app creator” and you don’t need to share the folder/sheet with your end user by googlesheet setting.