Real time dependind dropdown of google drive folders

JackRG

Hi everyone. Greetings from Colombia. I am new with AppSheet and trying to create an app for my company. So far I have found really usefull all the conversations of this comunity.

I have several folders and subfolders in google drive (+2000) so creating a parent-children folder list would be a big task. The objective is that the user can select the folder in wich the images will be saved and a file from a template will be created in that location. I have try to use the folder path on the text value enterd; but if the user donยดt have the list, is possible to make a mistake; for example if folder path is ABC/DEF/GHI and the user puts ACB/DEF/GHI, the files will be stored at another place and will have to relocated them manually.

I want to create a dependind dropdown real time search, that start with the list of the folders that are located on โ€œmy unitโ€ in google drive, and if I select any of them, another dropdown list appears with the children folders, and continue that way. I guess a Valid_If is possible but I donยดt know if inside the expressiรณn I could ask to getFolderbyName and get the subfolder list.

I would appreciate any ideas on this. Thank you very much and have a nice day.

Solved Solved
0 2 330
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

I havenโ€™t used it yet, be AppSheet recently added the ability to use Google Drive Folders as a datasource. I am not sure how robust it is meaning I donโ€™t know if it allows the ability to start at some top folder level and drill down to lower levels.

Below is an article about it, though it doesnโ€™t give many details.