Saving file as Google Doc

Hi all,

I’m new to Appsheet and have been working my way through the documentation and believe that want i want to do is not currently possible, but wanted to check to make sure.

I am building an invoicing system and one of the required processes requires the client to use a google Doc template to create ‘order confirmation files’.

Due to the nature of this clients customized orders he needs to be able to do the following,

A) Populate a google doc template with information from 3 different google sheet tables,

B) be able to save that (now) populated template back as a google doc to his G-suite cloud drive so that he may,

C) manually add in expanded item information (such as text and pictures) into the (now) populated google doc template so that he can,

D) manually download as a PDF, attach to emails and send to customers.

I have have been writing the code for this function in appscript, so i know it is possible there.
Any appsheeters know if this is currently possible?

Regards,
Steve

0 6 357
6 REPLIES 6

Not sure I understood. You can do the whole job in appsheet, and generate any kind of pdf or sheet. You can later add data and update info on a new pdf or replace the former pdf.
But why do you want to work in Google doc? Can’t you give him access as a user in Appsheet?

Hi Kristofer,

Can’t you give him access as a user in Appsheet?

yes i plan on deploying the app in secure mode with the client as a user (with a premium licence to keep costs down, so trying to avoid scheduled reports and webhooks in this process)

But why do you want to work in Google doc?

Here is a sample of the template (not set up yet for appsheet) but as you can see there are 4 sections to the doc,

1. Cover Letter
  2. Customer Details
  3. Order Summary
  4. Product Details