Scanning a QR Code

Hi,
I’m new to AppSheet, but have done a fair bit of research around QR scanning.
I understand that in the emulator “The scan button is displayed, but will not scan anything and will always produce the same value: 111122333.”
However I’m not seeing the scan button at all.
I’d like a new customer to our business scan in, and then we store the URL and their basic customer info into the google spreadsheet.
I have the column as “scannable”.

Suggestions welcome!
https://www.appsheet.com/start/31b7fc24-66b0-453c-b7fd-9ec50aaf4aaa#appName=VisitorCheck-ins-4523524...

1 9 374
9 REPLIES 9

I am fairly certain that you do not see the scan button on a desktop device, only a mobile device

@alphacp is correct. The scanner does NOT show up in the browser version of the app. The posted screenshot is of the browser version, and not the emulator. The emulator is only what you see on the right side of the editor.

Perfect - thanks for that. Didn’t see that in my searches. It seems that it also helped if I unchecked “key” for the column.

Follow up question -

It seems I haven’t worked out the difference from a user, versus a customer.
If I don’t login (as a user) - it comes up with an error… " The VisitorCheck-ins-4523524 app did not load successfully. Please contact the app creator.
Unable to fetch app definition. App ‘31b7fc24-66b0-453c-b7fd-9ec50aaf4aaa’ version 1.000054 is not runnable — please contact the app creator."

Pretty sure this will be a simple fix - just a newbie query.

Huh? Helped what?

A “user” is anyone that uses your app. Not sure what you mean by “customer”. Is this a Secure app or a Public app?

I want a customer to walk in to the business and check-in via a QR scan.
I’d like a small number of trusted business “users” to have access to the data.

Gotcha. So the customers will all be using the same device, right? A device, owned by you, probably purposefully set up in one location for this one task?