System Views inline? Add? I've got a 3-tier h...

System Views inline? Add? I’ve got a 3-tier hierarchy: property/violations/photos. I’ve set up ref fields and such so that I can dereference all the way back from photos to property, and in so doing the system auto-created a photos inline view that shows up in the Properties slideshow: I actually like this. However, it has a New button, and if one adds a photo here, it’s referenced to the property and not to a violation, which is going to be trouble. I need to remove/disable that New button (so you can go to photos, but not add a new one from this view, only from the corresponding Violations view), but I can’t figure it out. I assume it’s in a System view or behavior… I’m still learning them, but I can’t find it… I may have “ispartof” problems in there, since I’m not sure I’ve applied that consistently/correctly.

0 7 447
7 REPLIES 7

Hi Keith,

If you have a three tier hierarchy, then each Property detail view will show related Violations. Each Violation detail view will see Photos.

By the fact that you said that the Property detail view shows related Photos, it strikes me that the relationships are not quite right. You can see this in the Data -> Column Structure pane.

Thank you Praveen. Here’s the deal: as per some support article I read some where, I created the Virtual column in Photos (PropertyRef) so I can do 2nd-level dereferencing. That works perfectly, but creates the photos view in Properies. I hadn’t expected that (probably should have), and I actually like it, as long as I can get rid of the New button in that view. I think that’s the inline view for Photos? Except that of course I need the New for the Photos Inline from Violations. I’m still sorting out system views, sorry if I’m showing my ignorance.

If it’s in the form, it sounds like an Isapartof… In the photos column structure go to the column for property ref, and set the isapartof to false…