Text field in form not editable from master table or slice view

I have a master customer file with a slice for temporary locations.
My form shows the temporary location (it is a text type with the formula [CustomerL,F].[Temp loc] ) but it will not allow the form view to edit it or change it.
How do I get my form to see this changeable column in the master table & slice view and be able to change/select & edit it??? It is not a key or label.
I have to leave the form and go to the table slice view to edit it.
Please help.

0 20 2,580
20 REPLIES 20

@Rallee_Chupich
Thatโ€™s a de-ref value and you cannot edit it if itโ€™s an AppFormula. If you use the expression in the Initial Value, then you can edit that value.

@LeventK

When you say expression do you mean just write the concatenate formula in the initial value ?

@Rallee_Chupich
I meant your [CustomerL,F].[Temp loc] expression

Thanks

Trying to work thru and reorganize the app.

Rallee

@LeventK

Iโ€™m having issues with creating a unique customer ID because we work with customers that have numerous boats and I donโ€™t always have it correct serial number to use as the unique ID. I want to make forums and other related views and donโ€™t know whatโ€™s the best unique ID to use because if I do just a random unique ID can the forms and other related views have a nice drop-down that shows the employee The customer name with boat information and not just some weird unique ID?

Rallee

Hello Ralle, What I have found works best to keep the IDs unique but be able to select from a drop down menu that makes sense is:

#1 - keep the uniqueID hidden and donโ€™t use it as a label
#2- use the Concatenate function to create a virtual column that summarizes each row in a way that is unique (usually by combining two or more text type columns )
#3- select your โ€œuniqueโ€ virtual column as the โ€œlabelโ€ (under column structure) so users can identify easily what record they are looking for in a drop down.