Update Max date from Child referenced table

Hi,

I am newbie to Appsheet, my question might sound very simple for many of you.

I have a contact master table with following columns

1. Company (Column type Text)
  2. Phone
  3. Call Log (Ref Table - Ref Key is Company)
  4. Follow-up date (should come from history)

When a company is selected it goes to detail page and user can call and register feed back in history along with next follow up date.

While logging follow-up date in Call log it should update in Contact Master.
Or I should be able to lookup the Log table and find next call date.

LOOKUP([_THISROW].[Company],โ€œCall Historyโ€,โ€œCompanyโ€,โ€œNext Follow-upโ€)
Tried this but returns the first record in the matched row.

Please help
Thanks
Jayadev

0 8 254
8 REPLIES 8

Hi @Jayadevan! Welcome to the community.

Iโ€™m having trouble understanding your question. Please provide more detail (exact column names for the โ€œMasterโ€ and โ€œCall Historyโ€ tables; example of what is going wrong; screenshots of the app; etc.).

By the way, this is a question, not a โ€œtipโ€ so the category will probably be changed by someone monitoring this community to โ€œquestion.โ€

Yes, this should be changed to the Question Category. Please update the original post. @Steve

From what I gather the Call Log (named Call History ) is used for both past calls and the next future call,at the very least.

I would recommend the above - establishing a Virtual Column in your Master table for the โ€œNext Call Dateโ€ as a REF column and then assign it using a ANY(SELECT()) function.

The SELECT filters Call Log rows by:

1. Company matches the Master row company
  2. Type is of โ€œNext Call Dateโ€ (if you have such a column, otherwise omit this part)
  3. Call Date is > TODAY()

The ANY() function will return only the first item in the list. This arrangement will work for any number of future Call Back records listed - 0, 1, >1 - to return only the Next listed call back record.