User defined columns

Hi there. I’m new to app sheet and never coded anything before.

I’m trying to create an app where the user in one view defines the columns to a table (habits to track) and in another view adds entries to that table (reports on those habits every day or at various intervals).

How do I dynamically update the column headers? I created a slice that is called “active behaviors” where the status is set to “active,” but how do I pull those in as columns for the other table?

Thanks for your help!

EDIT: Now I am thinking dynamic column headers doesn’t make sense since each previous entry wouldn’t apply any more. So to clarify, I am thinking just to add new columns to a table when a user makes an entry in another table. Could I then do a lookup for the column headers?

0 9 190
9 REPLIES 9

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

What do you mean by this?

I mean the column headings. In other words, can the data entry in a form become a column header in a new table? Then every time a new entry is made in one table it can become a column header in another. Does that make sense?

The app cannot add columns to a table; the app can only add rows.

If you have preexisting columns and want to use user-supplied values to identify those columns, you can use a Display Name expression for the column to generate the column name shown to the user:

Hello and welcome @pr0digy1 can you be more explicit ?
but know that the columns are updated according to the data entered from a form that you will have created.

Thanks Steve, but that’s not exactly what I’m after. I want the user to define in one table the parameters they will be tracking in the other table.

I was able to accomplish this once by using Zapier and creating a new column on one sheet when a new entry is made to the other.

It seems like something reasonable to ask, but maybe I am thinking in spreadsheets not databases.