Vlookup in Appsheet app

Hi guys,

I am very new to AppSheet but I see great potential. I want to design a barcode scanner, very simple stuff in theory:)

The Datacolumns in my googlesheet are: Barcode, Location, date of last check, date of future check

I got three questions:
a) After a barcode was scanned i would like to see the information of my GoogleSheet (Location, date of last check & date of future check) In Excel i would use the vlookup based on the scanned barcode.

b) based on the GPS coordinates i would like to filter my location list, e.g. GPS in the states, show only American Cities.

c) I would like to have the date of future check calculated based on the date of last check. Should be today plus 2 years as default but also editable.

Thanks for your help.

Best regards,

Thomas

Solved Solved
0 8 3,943
  • UX
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Set Reset on edit? to ON.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

thanks for your input!
I have read the article about the lookup and also watched some videos about it. However, I really do not get it.
Based on the scanned barcode I would like to get the location data from the googlesheets which is linked to the barcode. This formula I use: LOOKUP([_THISROW].[Barcode],โ€œStatusโ€,โ€œBarcodeโ€,โ€œLocationโ€) and since it is just a suggestion and I want the user to edit it I put it into the โ€œSuggested valuesโ€ of the location row.

After scanning the barcode the field for Location stays empty.

Please help i am really clueless.

Best,

Thomas

Try putting the LOOKUP() expression in Initial value rather than Suggested values, just to test.

Hi Steve,

thanks for you support!
So i have tried this formula (LOOKUP([_THISROW].[Barcode],โ€œStatusโ€,โ€œBarcodeโ€,โ€œLocationโ€)) in the field: App Formula (the right value is shown, however, i can not edit it, which i need)
Initial Value (no value is shown at all)