Action Conditional Logic

I am brand new to App Sheet and trying to create my 1st app.  I have read several other posts regarding this topic but have not found one to address my specific issue.  I am trying to use the conditional behavior logic contained in one of the existing templates around attendance with some slight modifications.  I have used an attendance log in my source data and a virtual column called "Log Check". 

This is all set up very similar to the example template but I have simply replaced email with an ID # and I have more than one Course ID.  I tried to use the "Contains" conditional filter, replacing the email variable with the ID #, things are not working.  The concatenated values on the the virtual column are working correctly but the conditional logic will not accept the new variables and it keeps asking me about a column that is not in the Attendance Log Table or the Log Check Column .  What I am I doing wrong? 

Log Check Test:

appmess_0-1677027784507.png

Conditional Statement

appmess_1-1677027887231.png

0 3 81
3 REPLIES 3

So it looks like you're trying to set the condition for when an action should be available. What table is this action on, and what columns are on that table?

This should help a little bit as well:

https://community.appsheet.com/t/referencing-a-column-value-in-a-table-versus-referencing-all-column...

Marc - I believe the table is the Log Check which is created by the virtual column.  Again this expression was included in your attendance template so I can't claim to fully understand what it's doing.  But here is the expression again:

CONTAINS(Attendance Log[Log Check],[Email]&[Course]&TODAY())=FALSE

And here is a screen shot of the table generated by the Log Check

appmess_0-1677075492325.png

And here is the expression that generated the Log Check table:

[Student ID]&[Course]&[Date]