Check Clocked In Users

Hoping someone can help me sound this problem out.

I have a master sheet that records all signing in and out, I don't want to change that as it works for my purposes:

KeyTimestampWorkedActionAssociate EmailAssociate Name

AND(TODAY() = Date([Timestamp]), 
    [Action] = "Clock In",
    NOT(IN([Associate Name], SELECT(Clocking Log[Associate Name],  
                          AND(TODAY() = Date([Timestamp]), [Action] = "Clock Out"))))
)

This expression allows a slice to see who is currently clocked in.

I am trying to prevent someone who is currently NOT clocked in, selecting "Clock Out" from the Enum buttons.

Can anyone think of a neat way to disable the 'Clock Out' option based on the fact that specific user isn't clocked in, without creating a whole new sheet and using a bot to update it?

I'm hoping to leverage the expression and the slice, if possible, but I can't come up with an expression that works for a suggested value.

Solved Solved
0 6 146
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Assuming the Slice that you posted originally is working, to show only records from today, and only of clocked-in people, you can get the list of clocked-in peoples' emails with:

clocked_in_slice[Associate Email]

Then maybe you can set the valid_if of your [Action] column to something like:

IF( IN( USEREMAIL() , clocked_in_slice[associate email] ) , LIST("Clock Out") , LIST("Clock In") )

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

NOT( IN( ... , clocked_in_slice[...] ) )

?

Getting to the point of frustration with it now. I have broken my clocking system attempting to think my way around this problem.

All I want it to do is check to see if the current user has a record with today's date in it, if it has, display "Clock Out", if not, display "Clock In". Somehow that completely evades me in this context.

I can write an expression that should work, but the USEREMAIL might be where I'm falling down, it doesn't seem to recognise that?