Conditional LookUp

CJG
Bronze 2
Bronze 2

I have a table of different meter readings for a number of different machines listed by date.

I wish to calculate the difference between certain meter readings since the last reading - today's meter reading minus the last meter reading for this machine. I have tried (based on search of other posts)

LOOKUP (MAX (SELECT (Meter Readings[_ROWNUMBER],([_THISROW].[Serial Number] = [Serial Number]))), "Meter Readings", "_RowNumber", "Total Plays")

But this calculates the difference as "0" as today's reading is now the MAX. 

Help? P.S I am new to AppSheet but digging it!

Solved Solved
0 7 166
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

I see.  How about this?

[Total plays] - MAX(SELECT(Meter Readings[Total plays], (AND([Serial Number] = [_THISROW].[Serial Number],
[Total plays] < [_THISROW].[Total plays]),FALSE))

View solution in original post

CJG
Bronze 2
Bronze 2

FYI - Solved this by adding a field to record how many "days past" since last reading as there will always be a date on any reading including when zeroed.

Then changed the formula so that the meter readings match the Serial Number and where the Date of the previous reading plus this reading's Days Past equals this reading's Date as follows:

[Total Plays] - MAX(SELECT(Meter Readings[Total Plays], (AND([Serial Number] = [_THISROW].[Serial Number], [Date] + [_THISROW].[Days Past] = [_THISROW].[Date])), FALSE))

Not sure if this is the most efficient or correct way of solving the issue but it appears to work. Any advice on improvement is welcome.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Let's start by checking the basics.  What is the table name and what is the column name? 

Here's the select format:

SELECT(from-dataset-columnselect-row?, [distinct-only?])

https://support.google.com/appsheet/answer/10108207?hl=en

Let's say your table name is "Data" and the column name is "Meter Readings."  In that case, I think something like the following might work: