Connect multiple tables with the same reference

Hi all,

i am pretty new to Appsheet, so far really an impressive Tool.

I stumbled onto the following problem and wasnt able to solve it (even though i really searched in existing threads and documentation).

Lets say i have three tables as my data, purpose of App is to simply create comments for employees.

One table has the names per emloyee-ID, second table has the department per employee-ID. Third table is were the app user can enter comments for an employee-ID.

I now want to reference all three tables via the employee-ID, so that the user can open a form view to enter comments in the app. In this view the user first enters the employee-ID and then it will automatically display the right name and departments of this employee-ID.

So really a simple use case, connecting 3 tables via the same reference. Each ID can of course only have one name and one department.

I didnt manage to accomplish this, connecting 2 tables is not a problem but 3 didnt work. I tried it e.g. via a virtual column but i can only reference to the table which is chose when specifying the referenced table after setting data typ to "Ref" for PersonalID.

Data Explorer Screen for better understanding:

MartinL__0-1667837609039.png

Thanks in advance for any help.

Solved Solved
0 4 959
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thanks Marc

i followed you advice and discovered "Chained dereference expressions", which is what i was looking for. ๐Ÿ˜Š

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

It's not very clear exactly what you're trying to do, or where your issue is. You have the refs set up, thus your tables are connected. What are you trying to do with that connection?