Connecting Appsheet to Bigquery in Google Cloud Platform (GCP

Hello All!

I am new to Google Cloud Platform and wondering about a few things I am hoping the community can help me with, please.

Can I use Bigquery or SQL to replicate google sheets? I am having sensitive data relayed back to me via the AppSheet end user who are doing inspections for me, and I need the data permanently secured in the Google Cloud Platform. My understanding is that I can't feed AppSheet data from the end user directly into Google Cloud Platform.

Does anyone have a solution to having AppSheet end-user data transferred directly into GCP (instead of Google Drive where my Google sheets are usually kept) and to be stored for the long term (archived)

I have been told that Bigquery and SQL may be able to do this, however I am not 100% on understanding the full capabilties of these 2 products yet. If someone can tell me if this is possible I will investigate it further. Thank you!

Any helpful links would be warmly welcome.

John

Solved Solved
0 4 606
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

@johnni88 wrote:

Can I use Bigquery or SQL to replicate google sheets?

Do you mean "replace" rather than "replicate"? Both BiqQuery and SQL can be used to replace Google Sheets as a data store.

@johnni88 wrote:

I am having sensitive data relayed back to me via the AppSheet end user who are doing inspections for me, and I need the data permanently secured in the Google Cloud Platform.

What makes you think your Google Drive and Google Sheets data is not secure? What makes you think GCP would be more secure? I wouldn't assume GCP would be inherently more secure, especially for someone new to it.

@johnni88 wrote:

My understanding is that I can't feed AppSheet data from the end user directly into Google Cloud Platform.

Incorrect.

@johnni88 wrote:

to be stored for the long term (archived)