Make a user "Settings" table and conditional show views/columns based on settings values

Hi,
I am very new to Appsheet, however have developed an app that is doing what we require.
I’m not sure if what I want to do below is possible but I thought I’d put it out there for some assistance.

What I would like to do is create a table called “Settings” and a view called “Settings” with a couple of TRUE/FALSE buttons that I can use to show/hide a column for one question and show/hide a view for the other question.

The first user setting I would like is “Enter Customer Initials” as a TRUE/FALSE. I would then need to create a conditional showif on the “Initial” column in the “Parcels” table.

The second setting I would like is “One Step Delivery” as a TRUE/FALSE. I would then need to create a conditional Showif on two different views depending on the setting selected.

I would appreciate any recommendations on:-
The column structure of the “Settings” table.
The data type and column settings in Appsheet.
The Showif code example so there is no data mismatch etc for the column and view.

Thanks very much in advance

0 6 207
6 REPLIES 6

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

Hi Steve,
That’s awesome, thank you.
I have set one up for “Enter Customer Initials” as a ENUM YES/NO. I then put the following expression in the Show property for that column in the “Parcels” table:-
USERSETTINGS(Show Initials Field)=YES
When I set the value to YES it correctly shows the input field in my input form and also shows the column, with values, in a slice view. When I turn the user setting to NO it correctly does not show on the form input however in the slice view it still displays the column but without the data. My ideal scenario is that it would not display the column. Can you suggest what I should do?

It works beautifully for the second setting I originally mentioned about which view to show.

Many thanks
Simon

Please post some screenshots demonstrating this behavior.

Thanks Steve.