Summary in a Report

Hello to All this is my first post. I am new to Appsheet but I am in the process of building several Apps. Currently I am working on an Expense Reporting App. Part of that App is of course an expense report. Using the concepts in this post: Workflow pagination, headers and footers I have been able to create a report that is laid out exactly as I need it. However I am trying to add a summary in my pseudo footer that lists the total expenses for each Category. I am able to get a list of all the Categories, their description and the total for each category which comes from a VC [Category Total] using this Start expression:

<<Start:OrderBy(Select(Current Expenses[Exp Rec ID],TRUE),[Assign Cat ID].[Category ID])>> | <<[Assign Cat ID].[Category ID]>> <<[Assign Cat ID].[Short Label]>>: <<[Category Total]>><<End>>

The result looks as follows:

I need only one of each of the categories listed. I have tried several different approaches using UNIQUE() and INDEX() but I have been unsuccessful. If I change the focus of the expression to the [Assign Cat ID] I can can get the list to show one of each category but I am unable to get the VC Column [Category Total] to display as (I assume) it needs the Key [Exp Rec ID]. It is probably important to mention that this Start expression is nested in another Start expression. Just looking for a little help to get me back on track.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Solved Solved
0 7 319
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Whoops! I forgot a period. Iโ€™ve updated the expression above. Please try the updated expression.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Chiming in @Aleksi and @Steve

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

Perhaps this?

<<Start: OrderBy(Select(Current Expenses[Exp Rec ID], ([_ROWNUMBER] = MIN(SELECT(Current Expenses[_ROWNUMBER], ([Assign Cat ID] = [_THISROW-1].[Assign Cat ID]))))), [Assign Cat ID].[Category ID])>> | <<[Assign Cat ID].[Category ID]>> <<[Assign Cat ID].[Short Label]>>: <<[Category Total]>><<End>>