Trying to reset quantity to zero with each load after sync

Hi, I’m new to AppSheet, although I’m not new to development and design. I have a very basic order sheet for a restaurant that I’m working on. It connects to my Google Sheet and updates an order quantity column per item. I have two simple actions (add to order, subtract from order) that show an increase/decrease in the number displayed, as well as update a “Quantity Ordered” column. I’ve also set up a control column with all quantities equaling 0.

Where I am pulling my hair out is figuring out an expression or function to reset the Order Quantity to 0 after the user sync’s the app to the Google Sheet table. I’ve tried a bunch of combinations and even though I get close I feel like I’m missing something here. I have the basic add and subtract actions working on the number so that it increases/decreases on tap.

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thank you!!

Screen Shot 2020-05-01 at 9.10.50 AM|347x94

0 5 265
5 REPLIES 5

Steve
Platinum 4
Platinum 4

This is only possible if the column is a virtual column, and even then isn’t trivial. Why do you want to reset the value to zero on sync?

I believe it is going to confuse the staff when they are ordering on a daily basis. So basically, the staff member that is ordering would have a clean slate each time.

I currently have it setup with a virtual column that is taking into account the addition of the the control value + the quantity inputed (another column based on user input). This works the first time around around with blank data, but doesn’t solve an initial value =0 at the start. @Steve thanks for responding by the way.

I’m afraid I don’t understand enough how your app works, and it sounds like you’re taking an unconventional approach. Without a lot more details, I have nothing else to offer.